Northern Ireland invest £1.1m in school nurture units

Friday February 15th, 2013

Education minister, John O’Dowd, announced more funding would be given to ten already existing school nurture units, which help small groups of children deal with social, emotional or behavioural difficulties.

The ten schools receiving funding are:
• Ballysally Primary School, Coleraine
• Good Shepherd Primary School, Poleglass
• Holy Family Primary School, Derry
• Kilcooley Primary School, Bangor
• Rathcoole Primary School, Newtownabbey
• St Brigid’s Primary School, Derry
• St Colmcille’s Primary School, Downpatrick
• St Kieran’s Primary School, Poleglass
• St Luke’s Primary School, Belfast
• Tullycarnet Primary School, Dundonald

 This investment is in addition to the funding for 20 new units awarded as part of the Delivering Social Change Signature Project, in October. All 30 units will be funded until at least the 2014-15 school year.

Trained staff in these units will select the children who would benefit most from this support and will develop individual learning plans agreed with teachers and parents.  The units aim to bridge the gap between home and school and will play a key role in my longer-term aim of closing the gap in educational attainment evident in our system.

Mr O’Dowd said: “Small groups of children who would benefit from this intensive support can avail of it within the school premises, while continuing to remain part of their class group.  Children will generally return to their classes full time within three terms.”


Social Housing Procurement

Leave a Reply